Real estate agents and talking on the phone while driving go together like milk and cookies. Just be sure California doesn’t turn it into sour milk!

Look at these fines and think again about the cost of that hands-free cell phone headset:

  • Drive using wireless phone not hands free, first offense: $148
  • Drive using wireless phone not hands free, for each subsequent offense: $256
  • Drive using wireless device to send, read or write text: $148

According to the CHP, “The base fine for the FIRST offense is $20 and $50 for subsequent convictions. However, with the addition of penalty assessments, the total amount can be more than triple the base fine.”

And with California scrambling for any and every opportunity to add revenue to our starved coffers, you can be sure those penalty assessments will be added!



3 Comments

Leave a Reply